Digital News

Big Bang Boomerang: IMMAP expands digital awards

MANILA – What do McDonald’s, Ayala Land, and Benadryl have in common? These brands have all won Boomerang Awards. Given by the Internet and Mobile Marketing Association of the Philippines every year, the Boomerang Awards recognizes innovation with results.

Brands continue to invest heavily in above-the-line, but shifting to digital continues to demonstrate results. Brands that know digital are reaping the rewards – and the awards.

Now on its 9th year, the Boomerang Awards were born out of a desire to legimitize (and honor) the brave few in 2007 who tried the digital unknown and sought a new home for creative engagement. In 2014, Effectiveness became a category on its own. The year after, Innovation became a cornerstone, added to strategy, creativity, and results. This year, to match the global landscape, Digital Craft – recognizing the best in online video and audio, UX and functional excellence, and bleeding edge – came in as a category on its own. Effectiveness welcomed a new subcategory, Creativity in Data.


With such wide-ranging categories, the Boomerang Awards needs a different kind of jury, one with the experience and the chops to navigate discussions around brand strategy, innovation, and technology. This year’s jury is a standout one, headed by David Guerrero, Chairman & CEO of BBDO Guerrero, himself no stranger to the global stage both as a winner and a jury head. His jury had representation from creative and media agencies, brands, CRM, platforms, and the startup community. They are:

Jury President: David Guerrero, Chairman and CCO at BBDO Guerrero
Angeli Beltran, Director, Digital Marketing and CRM at Mead Johnson Nutrition APAC
Digs Dimagiba, Facebook Philippines, Country Director
Eric Cruz, ECD at AKQA Shanghai
Yves Gonzalez, Social Command and Mobile Solutions Director, MRM McCann
Raoul Panes, CCO at Leo Burnett
Mike Sicam, ECD at Ogilvy One
Shayne Garcia, General Manager at iProspect Philippines
Candice Iyog, VP Marketing and Distribution, Cebu Pacific
Anish Appukuttan, General Manager at Maxus Philippines
Dave Ferrer, ECD at JWT
Nic Gabunada, Marketing Consultant & Entrepreneur
Ibba Rasul-Bernardo, founder of Sari Solutions and COO/President of IAM360


Out of more than two hundred entries, sixty-eight have emerged as finalists. Which ones did the jury reward with metal? Find out at the Boomerang Awards Night, where Innovation Wins. The awards night will feature the country’s beloved indie bands, and is a fitting, high-energy conclusion to IMMAP’s DigiCon, The Power of X. Doors open at 5pm, October 12, PICC Forum 3.

This year’s Boomerang Awards Committee is composed of Leigh Reyes (MullenLowe), Jeff Saez (NuWorks), Mike Constantino (Homonym), and Cynthia Dayco (MJN), with special thanks to Chinky Llave (Dentsu Media).

Visit for more information. To join the party on awards night, contact Meanne Polk at or 0905.470.6842.  

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button