Philippine News

Cebuana Lhuillier to give P1M cash prize to ‘Happiest Pinoy’


MANILA – The happiest Filipino is set to be even happier as Cebuana Lhuillier gives P1 million to one deserving person in its Search for the Happiest Pinoy 2014.
The company’s nationwide campaign looks to recognize Filipinos whose optimism positively impacts other people’s lives.

A P1-million cash prize, tax-free, awaits the Search for the Happiest Pinoy 2014 grand winner while nine runners-up will receive P50,000. The country’s leading micro financial company will also give special prizes to the Happiest Student and Happiest Overseas Filipino Worker.


“With our Search for the Happiest Pinoy, we want to recognize outstanding Filipinos who are able to both rise above life’s challenges and positively impact the lives of other people with their positive outlook in life,” said Michael Sena, Cebuana Lhuillier’s Integrated Marketing Communications Group Head. “This is our way of celebrating the values of optimism, resilience, and hope among Filipinos.”

Filipinos, 18 years old and above, with good moral character can be nominated to the search. 

The nominees will be screened by a panel of judges composed of CNN 2009 Hero of the Year Efren Peñaflorida, Camarines Sur 3rd District Representative Maria Leonor Robredo, McCann-Erickson Chairman Emeritus Emily Abrera, Assistant Secretary Anne Corominas, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions (CLIS) General Manager Jonathan Batangan, Happiest Pinoy grand winners Winston Maxino and Rommel Arellano, inspirational speaker and corporate trainer Francis Kong, and broadcast journalist Luchi Cruz-Valdez.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from and are available in any Cebuana Lhuillier branch nationwide.

Accomplished nomination forms can be mailed together with supporting documents to: SEARCH FOR THE HAPPIEST PINOY SECRETARIAT, PJ Lhuillier Group of Companies, Inc., 2/F Annex 2, PJL Corporate Centre, 1782 N. Garcia cor. Candelaria Sts., Makati City 1209.

Scanned copies of the accomplished nomination forms and supporting documents can also be emailed to Nominations can be submitted until March 31.

Since its launch in 2009, the Search for the Happiest Pinoy has been awarded to two deserving individuals. Winston Maxino, a corporate executive who was diagnosed with Ankylosing Spondylitis, a degenerative and incurable bone disease, was declared the first Happiest Pinoy grand winner in 2010. Rommel Arellano, a guidance counselor who was afflicted with polio at age 1, was declared Happiest Pinoy in 2012, besting over 13,000 nominees nationwide.

For more information, check out the official Search for the Happiest Pinoy Facebook page at or follow it on Twitter and Instagram @happiestpinoy.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button