MANILA – Organized by the International Association of Business Communicators Philippines (IABC Philippines), the CEO Excel Awards are given to organization frontrunners who effectively and efficiently use exemplary communication as a business strategy to help achieve goals and objectives among internal and external audiences, build and maintain relationships, resolve and manage crisis and sustain the organization’s reputation among stakeholders.

The deadline for nominations is on 10 November 2016; point persons at IABC Philippines are Kweilin Lagos  and Erika Sanarez. They can be reached at tel. nos. 756-0441 and 772-8327 or via email at

This honor is conferred annually by IABC Philippines on the country’s CEOs, Presidents, Managing Directors and top-level leaders for their exceptional and ethical use of communication strategies and tools in their management and leadership to achieve both business and societal goals.  The  Award(s) represents the highest individual standard of communication excellence for top level executives, movers and leaders.

IABC Philippines Vice President and CEO EXCEL Awards 2016 Chairman Belle Tiongco said, “The awards are intended to raise public awareness on the essential role that strategic and effective communication plays in the achievement of business and organization goals.”

This year’s theme for the CEO EXCEL Awards 2016 is “Change: Overtaken, Overnight.”

“With the rapid advancement of technology and innovation that brings about abrupt changes and disruption,  it is imperative for business leaders to adapt, and re-shape business models. Communication is vital to this transition, and the most effective leaders understand this. This is what the CEO Excel Awards honor and showcase-  visionaries who maximize communications to face and overcome challenges, embrace innovation and disruption and ultimately advance new growth opportunities.” said Joe Zaldarriaga, President, IABC Philippines.

In 2015, fourteen leaders were added to the elite roster of exceptional business communicators with the following CEO EXCEL awardees: Hon. Benjamin Abalos, Jr., City of Mandaluyong; Nurhayati Abdullah, Country Manager, DHL Express Philippines; Miguel Belmonte, President and CEO, The Philippine Star Media Group; Dr. Roberto De Ocampo, Chairman and CEO, Philippine Veterans Bank; Emilio De Quiros, Jr., President and CEO, Social Security System; Rohit Jawa, Chairman & CEO, Unilever Philippines; Emmanuel Lorenzana, President and CEO, MediaQuest Holdings, Inc.; Cristino Naguiat, Jr., Chairman & CEO, Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation; Hon. Ramon Paje, Secretary, Department of Environment and National Resources; Felino Palafox, Jr., President, Palafox Architecture Group, Inc.; Dr. Elena Pernia, Dean- College of Mass Communication, University of the Philippines- Diliman; Hon. Grace Poe, Senator, Senate of the Philippines; Robert Vergara, President and General Manager, Government Service Insurance System and Manuel Paolo Villar, President and CEO, Vista Land and Lifescapes, Inc.

Over 150 business leaders across all sectors and industries have been awarded the CEO EXCEL since 2005.