Philippine News

IMMAP Inducts 2019 Officers, Trustees at 1st General Membership Meeting

The Internet and Mobile Marketing Association of the Philippines (IMMAP) announced its 2019 officers and board at the first general membership meeting of the year held recently.

Dennis Perez, media director, Unilever Philippines & E-Commerce Media for SEAA, succeeds Ken Lingan, country head, Google Philippines as president. Perez was vice president last year. Leigh Reyes, president and chief creative officer of MullenLowe Philippines is this year’s vice president and leads the DigiCon 2019 Committee.

Ernest Cu, president and CEO of Globe Telecom, delivered his keynote address through a fireside chat with celebrity RJ Ledesma. He also led the induction of the new officers.


Through the question and answer, Cu was able to reiterate the importance of going digital marketing in Globe’s pivot a few years ago. The telecommunications company went all-out digital in all of its marketing campaigns in the past years. He explained that the changes in internet user behavior allowed the company to shift gears with campaigns that are customer-centric maximizing the use of technology.

Perez revealed that the core of IMMAP’s vision this year is digital marketing excellence. He said the association not only wants to recognize outstanding works but also audit the industry, which brands, what types of campaigns, and what platforms are companies using in their marketing efforts.

To make excellence a norm with industry practitioners, IMMAP, through its Education Committee, will be holding marketing classes not only for members but for everyone who is interested to learn or update their own skills.

Perez also mentioned how IMMAP will leverage big data in determining the effectiveness of digital marketing campaigns and employ it in other use cases.

Perez recognized the success of “2018 Digicon XE: The Experience Economy” held in October at the Philippine International Convention Center. Notable speakers include Bozoma Saint John, chief marketing officer at Endeavor, Asher Rapkin, head of Business Marketing at Facebook, Shaifali Nathan, head of Large Customer Marketing for Asia-Pacific, Google, Samuel Burke, business and technology news correspondent at CNN, among others.

Following the success of Digicon, the association decided to bring the digital marketing conference to Cebu middle of this year to benefit the local talents in the south.

Reyes reveals that for the Digicon in October, the theme will revolve around “LEAP: Lead, Explore, Apply, Practice.” She invites brands and companies to participate as speakers, sponsors, or participants.

The Boomerang Awards is introducing another category: artificial intelligence. The emerging technology has been gaining ground in the past years as more and more companies are applying different use cases from enterprise to consumer. Marketers will be able to explore it, this time, in entertainment.

IMMAP created a dedicated committee, Digital E-Commerce Excellence to pursue and promote digital marketing excellence in the industry.

“We must continue to disrupt ourselves before we get disrupted,” Perez said.

For the youth, IMMAP remains committed to shaping the future of the industry with the revamped Creative Young Lions that is now led by the younger generation of marketing practitioners.

IMMAP membership has leaped from 180 to 233 last year. However, Perez said they are looking at increasing it to 300.


Here is the complete list of 2019 IMMAP officers and trustees:

President: Dennis Perez – Media Director, Unilever Philippines & E-Commerce Media for SEAA

Vice-president/Internal: Leigh Reyes – President and Chief Creative Officer, MullenLowe Philippines

Vice-president/External: Digs Dimagiba – Chief Marketing Officer, Metrobank

Secretary: Rudy Villar – Chief Client Partner, Villar Brand Consulting

Treasurer: Hans Eric Roxas Chua – President, eLearning Edge



Gary Abello – Director for Digital, Entertainment, Media, Telecoms, & Technology at ZMG Ward Howell Executive Search

Joanna Chan-Mojica – Chief Media Officer, Dentsu Aegis Network

Mike Constantino – Founder and Managing Director, Homonym Philippines

Ken Lingan – Country Head, Google Philippines,

Chay Mondejar-Saputil – Client Partner, Facebook PH

Minette Navarrete – President, Kickstart Ventures Inc.

TJ Parpan – General Manager, The Culture Group

Golda Roldan – Managing Director, J. Walter Thompson Philippines

Elaine Uy-Casipit – Head, iWant TV, and OIC-Head of Digital Media Division, ABS-CBN

Margot Torres – Margot Torres – Managing Director, McDonald’s Philippines

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button