TBWASantiago Mangada Puno, ABS-CBN Foundation Inc., Philippine Daily Inquirer top awardees at 6th Tinta Awards

Out of a record-breaking 300-strong field of entries at the United Print Media Group’s (UPMG) 6th Philippine Tinta Awards held last October 24, 2017 at the Manila Hotel, TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno emerged as Tinta Agency of the Year and ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. as Advertiser of the Year. Grand Prix awards were also given to TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno and the Philippine Daily Inquirer. 

TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno further scooped a total of four Golds, eight Silvers, eight Bronzes and the coveted Grand Prix for “Dirty Watercolor” for ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. under the Public Service – Print Campaign category. 


The Philippine Daily Inquirer walked away with the second Grand Prix of the night for its widely-known “Lamentation” photo under the Newspaper Best Photography category. The publication also bagged a Gold, three Silvers, and three Bronzes. 

“Lamentation” wins Grand Prix

The Philippine Daily Inquirer receives their Grand Prix trophy.

Meanwhile, the ABS-CBN Foundation, Inc. was named as the Advertiser of the Year driven by a Grand Prix, two Golds, four Silvers, and 2 Bronzes for its “Dirty Watercolor” campaign by TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno. 

TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno receives the Tinta Advertiser of the Year award on behalf of ABS-CBN Foundation Inc. 

The UPMG also honored with the Dyaryo Lifetime Achievement Award its former president from 2011 to 2015 and current Department of Tourism Assistant Secretary Ricky Alegre and President Emeritus and Founding Member Pepito Olarte of the Philippine Daily Inquirer. 

Department of Tourism Assistant Secretary Ricky Alegre (L) and UPMG President Emeritus and Founding Member Pepito Olarte of the Philippine Daily Inquirer (R)

This year’s entries were judged by the country’s top creatives, headed by jury president Joe Dy, Executive Creative Director, McCann Worldgroup Philippines, Third Domingo, CEO, IdeasxMachina, Bryan Siy, Executive Creative Director, TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno, Paolo Fabregas, Executive Creative Director, Publicis Manila, Mickey De Castro, General Manager, PHD Media Philippines, Mike Sicam, Executive Creative Director, OgilvyOne Worldwide Manila, Joey David-Tiempo, Executive Creative Director, Nuworks Interactive Labs, Inc., Badong Abesamis, Partner, Gigil, Alnair Langkay, Creative Group Head and Head of Design, Publicis JimenezBasic, Greg Martin, Executive Creative Director, Ace Saatchi & Saatchi, and Office of the Press Secretary Former Undersecretary Robert T. Rivera.

In a statement, the 6th Tinta Awards Chairperson and Founder & President of adobo magazine, Angel Guerrero expressed optimism over the record number of entries, saying that print is still a compelling and flourishing medium of communication in an increasingly digital world. 

UPMG President Barbie Atienza also shared Guerrero’s optimism and noted that publishers and print media firms are pushing the envelope for creativity on the medium to answer digital disruption. 

See the complete winners list for the 6th Tinta Awards below and the photo gallery of winners here

6th Tinta Awards_Final Report by adobo magazine on Scribd

Related Articles

Back to top button