Global News

AFC 12: Geared Up And Ready To Go For adobo Football Cup 12

MANILA – For just one day, people in the creatives industry, media, production houses, and agencies are logging off from their workstations, switching gears as they partake at one of the most exciting sporting events of the year – the 12th adobo Cup.

adobo magazine is kicking off the games once more at McKinley Hill Stadium with 20 teams ready to battle it out to win the cup.

The 20 teams will be:

  1. Forza Havas / Havas Ortega
  2. Kapamilya FC
  3. McCann United
  4. Publicis Groupe FC
  5. TBWA Yakalz
  7. BBDO Guerrero United
  8. Makina FC
  9. Nuworks United X GMD
  10. PHAR Rangers
  11. DDB FC
  12. Group M Blue
  13. Group M White
  14. Labor of Love x MYNILA
  15. Mediaquest Sparta FC
  16. Voyager Paymaya FC
  17. Dentsu Jayme Syfu
  18. JWT – Go Motion Bolas Grandes
  19. Ogilvy FC
  20. QBF FC
Last year’s games were filled with suspense and drama as a typhoon battered the stadium, but wet fields weren’t enough to stop the teams from continuing the games, with Kapamilya United eventually emerging as champions. The team’s star player Mark Rivera was also named as Most Valuable Player, while teammate Jay Golarta won Best Goalkeeper.

This year, however, adobo magazine and their partners expect the weather to be more cooperative. adobo magazine has partnered up with several sponsors to host the event, including AFC12, ArtisteSpace. Futkaleros, Field of Hope. Younghusband Football Academy, Jollibee, McKinley Football Stadium, Manulife, Quaker Oats, Heineken, Lifeline, JT’s Manukan, Jamba Juice, and Gatorade.

Staying true to tradition, organizers are also pledging to provide aid for NGOs Field of Hope and Futkal who help disadvantaged children and their families. Futkal is a group that empowers street children by teaching them how to play the game, and adobo magazine will be giving away football gear to the children to help them continue pursuing the sport.

The cup is also paying tribute to CAN Sports president and former Asian Football Confederation Match Commissioner Cathy Nazareno, who for the past seven years of the adobo Cup has made sure the games went smoothly, safely, and fairly. Nazareno recently passed away, and as a way to remember her, this year’s games will also be giving a special Cathy Nazareno award.

The 12th adobo Football Cup will commence at the McKinley Hill Stadium, BGC on Saturday, June 8, 2019.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button