Philippine News

TBWASMP’s Boysen poster wins the aDAA 2016 Grand Prix Award

MANILA – A beautiful poster for a paint brand, ‘Colors’ poster for Boysen Philippines by TBWA\Santiago Mangada Puno emerged as the winner of Best in Show – For Purpose in the recently concluded adobo Design Awards Asia 2016.

This campaign also won a Gold for the Press and Poster category, a Silver in the Photography – Commercial category, and a bronze for Press and Poster and Outdoor and Ambient categories.

Another big winner for the night was BBDO Guerrero, which is now the owner of two Lucille Tenazas Excellence Awards for the second consecutive year. This was given for the mobile app ‘We are here.’


“Design is not just about making an artifact but it’s also about creating a strategy,” commented Lucille Tenazas, founder and prinicipal of Tenazas Design. “It’s also about creating an impact. I think the idea of using bicycles as a mode of transportation is something that is being underused in our country. I think from the standpoint of design, this design solution enhances civic behavior. Designers in this case were able to present a solution that will impact society. It goes back to what I’ve always thought, design is not just about making things. It’s about making things happen.”

BBDO Guerrero also won a Gold for ‘Skate Billboard’ while another Gold winner was Leo Burnett Group Manila for Calbee Besto Potato ‘Dilao.’

For the first time, adobo magazine has partnered with the prestigious D&AD Awards in London to present this year’s competition. The jury was headed by no less than the D&AD President, Andy Sandoz. Together with Sandoz are renowned design experts including Jowee Alviar, Co-Founder, Team Manila; AJ Dimarucot, Graphic Designer; Dan Matutina, Designer and Illustrator, Plus 63 Design; Ric Gindap, Creative Director, Design for Tomorrow; Melvin Mangada, Chief Creative Head, TBWA\SMP; Patrick Cabral, Type Artist; Leigh Reyes, President and CCO, MullenLowe Philippines; Arnold Arre, Comic Artist & Illustrator, Tala Comic Publishing; Benjamin Marasigan, Chairperson, Animation Program, DLS-CSB; and Electrolychee founders Bru Sim-Nada and Marcus Nada.

The adobo Design Awards Asia 2016 is presented by Bench, Globe Telecom, Bear Brand, Brand New Media, Power Mac Center, Greenbulb PR, Executive Decisions, Green Sun, PWC, ABS-CBN, TV 5, Business Mirror, Philippine Daily Inquirer, Manila Bulletin, ClicktheCity.com, Creative Voices, Rappler.com, and WheninManila.com.

Here’s the full list of winners:

ADA 2016 WINNERS LIST by adobo magazine

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button