Press Release

UPMG honors print media excellence at Tinta Awards 2017

By Argie C. Aguja 

This month, Philippine-based advertising agencies, digital agencies, media independents, print media publishers and printing companies, advertisers and students gathers as one when the United Print Media Group (UPMG) recognizes outstanding examples of print media excellence during the awards night of the 6th Philippine Creative Print Awards set on October 24 at the Manila Hotel.

Tinta Awards 2017
The Philippine Creative Print Awards — also known as the “Tinta Awards” — is the first Philippine press award-giving body geared toward recognizing excellence in print advertising that encourages creativity and imagination in keeping the spirit of print media alive in an increasingly digital terrain. The organizer, UPMG, is the premier national association of more than 100 titles of major publication companies ranging from newspapers, tabloids and magazines in the country that gives due recognition to the ingenuity and brilliance of Philippine print advertising practitioners. 


Organized by UPMG, the “Tinta Awards 2017: Ink The Universe” bestows honors based on a number of categories: Print and Magazine Advertising (Consumer, Public Service, Interactive Print Campaign, Integrated Print Campaign, Special Print Media Execution and Online Advertising Campaign), Print Craft (Best in Copy, Art Direction, Typography, Illustration, Digital Imaging and Photography), Newspapers and Magazine Design, Newspaper and Magazine Craft and a Student category. 

A Gold, Silver, and Bronze Tinta Award will be given in each category. Shortlisted entries will receive a finalist certificate. A Grand Prix may be awarded in each main category not including the Student Category. The Tinta Awards Agency Of The Year will be awarded to the agency that obtains the highest score for entries into the competition. 

Panel of Jurors 
In charge of selecting outstanding entries from the roster of finalists was the panel of judges composed of several distinguished personalities in the advertising, publishing, media and creative industries. 

Leading the panel is jury president and McCann Worldgroup Philippines executive creative director Joe Dy, together with IdeasXMachina CEO Third Domingo, TBWA/SMP Executive Director Bryan Siy, Publicis Manila Executive Director Paolo Fabregas, PHD Philippines General Manager Mickey de Castro, OgilvyOne Worldwide Manila Executive Creative Director Mike Sicam, Nuworks Interactive Labs, Inc. Executive Creative Director Joey David-Tiempo, Partner of Gigil Badong Abesamis, Office of the Press Secretary Former Undersecretary Robert T. Rivera, Publicis JimenezBasic Creative Group Head & Head of Design Alnair Langkay and Ace Saatchi & Saatchi Executive Creative Director Greg Martin.

For more information, visit, call the UPMG Tinta Awards Secretariat at 403- 7787 or email

Related Articles

Back to top button