CCP names winners of ika-29 Gawad Alternatibo

MANILA – THE Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) named the winners of the Ika-29 Gawad CCP Para Sa Alternatibong Pelikula At Video (Gawad Alternatibo) in awarding ceremonies on August 7, 2017, at the Tanghalang Manuel Conde (Dream Theater).

One of the main components of the 13th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival held on August 4 to 13, the Gawad Alternatibo annually cites the best efforts of Filipino filmmakers in four categories – Animation, Experimental, Documentary and Short Feature. Established in 1987, it is considered the longest-running independent film competition of its kind in the ASEAN/Asian region.

For the Short Feature Category, “Sa Saíyang Islá (In His Island)” by Christian Candelaria of U.P. Diliman won the first prize. “Proxy” by Alfonso Silva of DLSU-CSB and “Auntwo Susan” by Andrea Arias and Mia Rosero of Benilde Film / Suntanned Productions took home the second and third places, respectively. Honorable Mentions were “Ma’am LA” by Vince Sevillano of DLSU-CSB and “Santa Nena!” by Tim Rone Villanueva of Benilde Film / TV Films. Teddy Co, Lemuel Lorca and Hannah Espia were the jury members for the Short Feature competition.


The Board of Juries – composed of Eduardo Roy Jr., January Victoria, and Maria Victoria Ilagan – judged “In the Middle of the Night (Sa Kalagitnaan ng Gabi)” by Bryan Kristoffer Brazil of Manila Montage Inc. as the best documentary among the entries for this category. “Spring by the Sea” by Aleia Garcia of MAPUA University bagged the second prize, while “Timbre: Isang Dokumentaryo Tungkol sa Laban Kontra Droga” by Camille Samonte and Pam Bareo of St. Scholastica’s College, Manila brought home the third prize. Honorable mention was “Bai: A Video Documentary on the Plight of the Ata-Manobo Women in Talaingod, Davao Del Norte” by Bianca Aquino, Angelica Gahoy, Rhianne Raval, and Hermes Tunao of St. Scholastica’s College, Manila.

“Diskarte” by Agu Crisostomo and Mich Cervantes of DLSU-CSB won the top prize in the Animation Category. Tied for the second place were “Pinagrok” by Maybelle dV. Escaro of Ateneo de Naga University and “Sorcerace” by Sofia Abellera of DLSU-CSB. Third prize went to “Litrato” by Marc Jon B. Villanea of Ateneo de Naga University, while “Pasada” by Cesar E. Asuncion III of DLSU-CSB was a honorable mention.

In the Experimental Category, no entry has won the first prize. “Recurrencia” by Carmina Cruz of Bakunawa Productions and “Ang Pagkalaglag ng Ginintuang Salamin ng Pagkakilanlan” by Tricia Sotaso of Mapua University won second and third places, respectively. “Philippine Cinema: A Century Hence” by Epoy Deyto of Independent – tollidBilly Productions and “Chapter 2: On the Vanity of Existence” by Mathieu Padilla of the Marilou Diaz-Abaya Film Institute received honorable mentions. Jury members for this category included Roque F. Lee, Hazel Joy R. Gutierrez, and Eleanor C. Ramos.

Winners in all categories each received a cash prize, as well as certificate. Many of today’s outstanding filmmakers and media practitioners are alumni of Gawad Alternatibo.

Related Articles

Back to top button