Awards NewsEvents

Awards: Prestigious international jury announced for biennial Interior Architecture/Design global awards program

NEW YORK CITY, USA – IFI – the International Federation of Interior Architects/Designers has today announced the jury members who will determine the winners of its 2021 edition of the Global Awards Program (IFI GAP). The jurors include some of the most celebrated practicing architects, interior architects/designers, thinkers and media today. Spanning five continents, they reflect the global reach of the Federation.

IFI GAP recognizes and awards design excellence at the world level. Comprising four of the highest honors achievable in the Interiors profession, it identifies and honors both the contributions of individual luminaries and the best-of-the-best of built environments.

Jurors representing major design institutions alongside the 2020 award recipients will consider nominations for IFI’s highest honor, the IFI PRIZE and the Design Journalism Award (IFI DJA). Both of these awards recognize the exemplary contribution of individuals in strengthening and progressing Interior Architecture/Design.


Jurors for the IFI PRIZE and the Design Journalism Award (IFI DJA) are: Steve Leung, IFI Past-President 2020-2021 / Founder of Steve Leung Design Group – SLD (Hong Kong SAR, China) (Jury Chair); Arturo Dell’Acqua Bellavitis, Professor of Industrial Design at Politecnico di Milano and former Director of Milan Triennale Museum (Italy); David Gensler (USA); Alice Rawsthorn, 2020 IFI Design Journalism Award (IFI DJA) recipient, design critic and author (UK); and Rosanne Somerson, President, Rhode Island School of Design – RISD (USA).

In the form of a global design competition, IFI’s Design Distinction Awards (IFI DDA) jurors will be charged with selecting the best built projects from around the world. The IFI DDA jury features a stellar selection of international Interior Architecture/Design practitioners and, for the first time, a Media Jury comprised of leaders from top international design publications/platforms. They will consider entries across ten different categories: Commerce, Habitat, Health, Humanitarian, Learning, Play, Stay, Student, Sustainability and Work.

Selecting winners of the IFI Design Distinction Awards (IFI DDA) are: Steve Leung, IFI President / Founder of Steve Leung Design Group – SLD (Hong Kong SAR, China) (Jury Chair); Soo K. Chan, Founder and Principal of SCDA Architects (Singapore); Randy Howder, Managing Director and Principal at Gensler (USA); Marcio Kogan, Founder and Renata Furlanetto, Director of Studio MK27 (Brazil); Amanda Stanaway, Principal and Global Leader – Workplace Interiors at Woods Bagot (Australia); Paul Tange, Senior Principal Architect and Chairman of Tange Associates (Japan); Adam Tihany, Founder and Alessia Genova, Managing Director of Tihany Design (USA); George Yabu and Glenn Pushelberg, Founders of Yabu Pushelberg (Canada); and Woody Yao, Director of Zaha Hadid Design – ZHD (UK); Media jurors: Sarah Douglas, Editor-in-Chief of Wallpaper* (UK); Paul Keskeys, Content Director at Architizer (USA); and Jessica Ma, Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Designwire (China).

“For the second edition of the IFI GAP jury, we are honored to be collaborating with some of the most talented and celebrated leaders, practitioners and game changers from the Interior’s discipline. Their priceless experience and level of professional expertise reflect the caliber and diversity of the most exemplary achievements IFI GAP recognizes on a world scale, providing the means to build an IFI World Interiors Hall of Fame of those who shape Interiors and write its history,” said Chairman of IFI GAP and Jury Chair, Steve Leung, IFI Past-President 2020-2021, who is spearheading the initiative.

Award winners will be presented at a hybrid Awards Ceremony and Gala Dinner as part of the IFI CONGRESS – IFI’s biennial global convening of industry representatives and invited keynote speakers to share progressive ideas, knowledge, and developments in Interior Architecture/Design worldwide. The 2021 IFI CONGRESS takes place in São Paulo, Brazil in November.

The deadline for project entries to the IFI Global Awards Program is Tuesday, 31 August 2021. For additional details, visit

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button