Awards News

Awards: The 2021 World Media Awards for International Content-Driven Advertising are now open for entry

LONDON, UK – The 2021 World Media Awards (WMAs) are open for entry today, offering nine categories to recognise the best in cross platform, cross border, content-driven advertising. This year includes a new award for ‘Social Good’, which recognises the potential for brands to combine storytelling with corporate action to influence social change around issues such as sustainability, the environment, poverty, and diversity and inclusion.

Hosted by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global publishers that promotes award-winning journalism and the role of international media, the WMAs are now in their sixth year. Leading the World Media Group this year are Damian Douglas, Managing Director EMEA at TIME, who takes on the role of President, and Gordana Buccisano, EVP Global Client Transformation, Havas Media Group, the WMG’s Non-Executive Chair. They will be supported by two Vice Presidents, Emma Winchurch-Beale, International Sales Director at The Washington Post, and James Davies, Strategic Account Director, at Thomson Reuters.

The WMAs are the only awards to celebrate the collaboration between brands, agencies and media partners to create powerful international content campaigns, and are free to enter*. In addition to presenting awards to category winners on the night, the WMAs amplify the winning entries in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than €650k. The winners’ ad campaign runs across the World Media Group’s leading international media brands comprising The Atlantic, BBC Global News, Bloomberg Media Group, Business Insider, The Economist, The Financial Times, Forbes, Fortune, National Geographic, Reuters, The New York Times, Time, The Wall Street Journal and The Washington Post.


“Every year, the WMAs demonstrate the power of international content-driven advertising to tell stories across channels and borders,” said Damian Douglas, President of the World Media Group and Managing Director, EMEA, at TIME. “2020 has given rise to the more socially conscious consumer and we believe brands have a crucial role to play in this new values-led world. We’re delighted to be adding a new category for ‘Social Good’ this year and I look forward to seeing how brands are using content to influence social change.”

Last year’s winning entries included Grand Prix winners, Sonos, along with Astana International Financial Centre, Electronic Arts, Levi’s, Samsung, Tech Mahindra, Tourism Australia and Volkswagen.

How to enter: Entry to the WMAs at is free to advertisers and agencies although entrants are invited to make a voluntary donation to Reporters Without Borders. Advertisers and media owners and their media, PR and creative agencies can enter all categories. Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of activity needs to have been implemented between January 2020 and March 2021. There is no requirement for campaigns to have run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is 20th May 2021.

Judging: To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury is made up of heavy-weight judges from brands, agencies and media owners. You can find out more about this year’s judges here.

Categories: This year there are nine award categories open for general entry, along with the Content Leadership & Innovation Award, which invites nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from amongst the category winners, as follows:

· Automotive
· Brand & Media Owner Partnership
· Corporate Influencer
· Financial Services
· Lifestyle & Luxury
· Media & Entertainment
· Technology & Telecoms
· Travel & Tourism
· Social Good

Awards event: The winners will be announced at an exclusive live ceremony (or a virtual event, should Covid restrictions necessitate it) on Thursday 9th September 2021. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

*Awards cost £195 per entry for non-member media owners.


Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button