Awards NewsEntertainment

Awards: Nomadland, Borat sequel top 78th Golden Globes for film; The Crown, The Queen’s Gambit are big winners for TV

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — The 78th Golden Globe Awards was held, for the first time ever, remotely due to the ongoing pandemic. Despite the restrictions and limitations that this situation came with however, the annual awards ceremony hosted by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) continued with hosts and Saturday Night Live alumni Tina Fey and Amy Poehler presiding with Fey in New York City and Poehler in Beverly Hills.

Nomadland, the dramatic tale of a woman who loses everything during the economic recession who then leaves home to travel the American West, won a couple of big honors. These include Best Picture – Drama and Best Director for Chloe Zhao. The film beat out The Father, Mank, Promising Young Woman, and The Trial of the Chicago 7.

For her part, first-time nominee Zhao beat out Aaron Sorkin for The Trial of the Chicago 7, David Fincher for Mank, actress/director Regina King for One Night in Miami, and actress/director Emerald Fennell for Promising Young Woman.

Newcomer Andra Day became the first Black American to win Best Actress – Motion Picture Drama for the title role in The United States vs. Billie Holiday. Day emerged from a field that included Frances McDormand in Nomadland, Vanessa Kirby for Pieces of a Woman, Carey Mulligan for Promising Young Woman, and Viola Davis for Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom.

Speaking of Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, there was a bittersweet moment during the awards night as the recently deceased Chadwick Boseman won Best Actor – Motion Picture Drama in his final film role as the tragic musician Levee Green. Boseman topped fellow nominees Gary Oldman for Mank, Anthony Hopkins for The Father, Riz Ahmed for Sound of Metal, and Tahar Rahim in The Mauritanian.

The Best Picture – Musical/Comedy award was disputed by Music, the Andy Samberg comedy Palm Springs, The Prom, the film adaptation of the highly popular musical Hamilton, and the sequel to 2006’s Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan, namely Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery of Prodigious Bribe to American Regime for Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. Sacha Baron Cohen’s unconventional comedy eventually won.

For his second turn as reporter Borat Sagdiyev, Cohen repeated his win from 2006 for Best Actor – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy. He took the award over Andy Samberg in Palm Springs, Lin-Manuel Miranda for Hamilton, Dev Patel in The Personal History of David Copperfield, and James Corden in The Prom.

Best Actress – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy was given to Rosamund Pike for playing Massachusetts con artist Marla Grayson in I Care a Lot. Pike took home the honor over Maria Bakalova who played Borat’s daughter Tutar in Borat Subsequent Moviefilm, Kate Hudson in Music, Michelle Pfeiffer in French Exit, and Anya Taylor-Joy in Emma.

In a loaded field, Best Supporting Actor – Motion Picture was disputed by Cohen as Abbie Hoffman for The Trial of the Chicago 7, Jared Leto as the creepy Albert Sparma in The Little Things, Bill Murray as Felix Keane in On the Rocks, Leslie Odom Jr. as soul singer Sam Cooke in One Night in Miami, and Daniel Kaluuya as Black Panthers leader Fred Hampton in Judas and the Black Messiah. The Golden Globe was won by Kaluuya.

Veteran actress Jodie Foster won Best Supporting Actress – Motion Picture for playing Nancy Hollander in The Mauritanian. She was chosen by the HFPA over Glenn Close as Bonnie Vance in Hillbilly Elegy, Olivia Colman as Anne in The Father, Amanda Seyfried as Marion Davies in Mank, and young Helena Zengel as Johanna Leonberger opposite Tom Hanks in News of the World

Released on Disney+ in December, Disney and Pixar’s Soul took home the coveted Best Animated Feature Film and Best Original Score for Jon Batiste, Atticus Ross, and Trent Reznor. Other nominees for Best Animated Feature were The Croods: A New Age, Disney-Pixar’s Onward, Over the Moon, and Wolfwalkers. Best Foreign Language Film was given to the very personal story of director Lee Isaac Chung in Minari.

On the television side, the fourth season of The Crown repeated its 2017 victory for Best Television Series – Drama as the series on the British royal family chronicled the years of 1979 to 1990. The Crown beat tough competition in Ozark, Lovecraft Country, The Mandalorian, and Ratched. For Best Musical/Comedy Series, Schitt’s Creek emerged as winners over Emily in Paris, The Flight Attendant, The Great, and Ted Lasso.

For her portrayal as Diana, Princess of Wales, Emma Corrin took home Best Television Actress – Drama Series. She topped co-star Colman as Queen Elizabeth II, Jodie Comer as the psychotic Villanelle in Killing Eve, Laura Linney as the compromised Wendy Byrde in Ozark, and Sarah Paulson at the title character in Ratched.  

Another actor on The Crown won Best Television Actor – Drama Series in the form of Josh O’Connor who played Prince Charles for the past two seasons. O’Connor topped a stacked group that also included Bob Odenkirk who has been playing Jimmy McGill on Better Call Saul, Jason Bateman as the corrupted Marty Byrde on Ozark, titular private investigator/lawyer Perry Mason played by Matthew Rhys, and the legendary Al Pacino as Meyer Offerman on Hunters

Completing the dominance of The Crown, Gillian Anderson won Best Supporting Actress – Television for her portrayal of British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher. She edged out co-star Helena Bonham-Carter’s performance as Princess Margaret, Julia Garner Ruth Langmore on Ozark, Annie Murphy on Schitt’s Creek, and Cynthia Nixon on Ratched

Best Supporting Actor – Television was awarded to John Boyega who played Leroy Logan on Small Axe. Also nominated were Donald Sutherland on The Undoing, Jim Parsons for Hollywood, Dan Levy for Schitt’s Creek, and Brendan Gleeson for The Comey Rule.

Catherine O’Hara’s over the top performance as Moira Rose on Schitt’s Creek earned her Best Television Actress – Musical/Comedy Series. She beat out Kaley Cuoco’s performance as alcoholic flight attendant Cassie Bowden on The Flight Attendant, Elle Fanning’s independent Queen Catherine on The Great, Lily Collins as Emily Cooper on Emily in Paris, and Jane Levy as Zoey Clarke on Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist.

Jason Sudeikis’ performance as titular character and displaced football coach Ted Lasso earned him Best Television Actor – Musical/Comedy Series. His performance stood out in a field that included Nicholas Hoult as Peter III in The Great, Eugene Levy as Johnny Rose on Schitt’s Creek, Ramy Youssef as Ramy Hassan on Ramy, and Don Cheadle as Maurice Monroe on Black Monday.

Netflix’s phenomenal The Queen’s Gambit emerged victorious as Best Miniseries or Television Film. It outdueled Normal People, Small Axe, The Undoing, and Unorthodox. Anya Taylor-Joy’s performance as chess prodigy Beth Harmon on The Queen’s Gambit was rewarded with Best Actress – Television Motion Picture. Her fellow nominees were Nicole Kidman for The Undoing, Shira Haas for Unorthodox, Daisy Edgar-Jones for Normal People, and Cate Blanchett for Mrs. America.

Best Actor – Television Motion Picture was given to Mark Ruffalo for I Know This Much Is True. Also nominated were Bryan Cranston for Your Honor, Jeff Daniels for The Comey Rule, Hugh Grant for The Undoing, and Ethan Hawke for The Good Lord Bird

Other honors given out by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association were the Cecil B. DeMille Award for making a significant mark in the film industry to actress Jane Fonda and the Carol Burnett Award for outstanding and lasting contributions to television, awarded to legendary television producer Norman Lear.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button