Music: Filipino hip-hop wunderkind Kiyo shows range and versatility on debut full-length album, HARANASA

MANILA, PHILIPPINES —Filipino underground hip-hop sensation Kiyo captures his love for vast spectrum of sounds and music styles on his debut full-length album, HARANASA—out today via Dyecast Ent.

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Kiyo (@definitelynotkiyo)

The long-awaited album features collaborations with fellow contemporaries and friends in the industry, including Shortone on the dub-meets-trap jam “Hey,” Space Moses on the jazzy but chill “G,” and YZKK on the stripped-down, laidback tune “Dantay.”

With eclectic music influences that range from lo-fi rap to trap, experimental hip-hop to tropical jazz, ambient electronica to bedroom pop, HARANASA pushes the culture forward with soulful samples, ingenious production techniques, and captivating storytelling. It marks a defining moment for Kiyo as a prolific rapper, wordsmith, and producer capable of turning the everyday mundane into a rich source of inspiration.

According to Kiyo, the 15-track record navigates on lyrical themes about love and its messily glorious iterations. It also plays around the concept of time as a storytelling device, associating its passage to a particular journey, experience, or memory.

The release of his new album, will be accompanied with a digital concert on the same day. The free virtual show also marks Kiyo’s debut performance of the songs from HARANASA. It will be available for free streaming on his official Facebook page.

Earlier this month, the rapper/producer released “Harana Sa Sarili,” the first single off HARANASA. Finding value in celebrating the simple joys of life, the track peaked at No. 17 on YouTube’s Trending For Music charts, and earned placements on high-profile Spotify playlists such as Hip-Hop DX Asia’s Sunday Slowdown.

HARANASA Track list:

  1. Nandito Na
  2. Okay lang yan
  3. Sakay
  4. Ikaw lang
  5. Eba
  6. Hey (Feat. Shortone)
  7. Pantalan Pt. 1
  8. G (Feat. Space Moses)
  9. BRB
  10. Pagkabigo
  11. Dantay (Feat. Yzkk)
  12. Harana Sa Sarili
  13. Shine Boi
  14. Hanggang kalian
  15. Pantalan Pt. 2

Kiyo’s new album, HARANASA is out now on all streaming platforms worldwide.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button