Awards NewsPress Release

The 2024 World Media Awards opens the show for this year’s entries

LONDON, UK — The 2024 World Media Awards (WMAs) is now open for entry, offering 11 categories to recognize the very best in cross-platform, cross-border, content-driven advertising. Created by the World Media Group, a strategic alliance of global media brands that promotes award-winning journalism and the value of quality international media to the marketing industry, the WMAs are now in its ninth year.

B2B added to the sector categories

The organizers have added two new categories this year. The B2B category is designed to recognize the best content-led campaigns targeting international business audiences. These can come from any brand that creates products or services designed to support business customers.

“Small budget, great impact”

This new specialist category is designed to show off strong partnerships between brands and media owners. It recognizes stand-out international branded-content campaigns that are created on a smaller budget (less than EUR 300K or $300K). The “Small Budget, Great Impact” category can be entered by media owners and must demonstrate how the client and media owner have worked together to develop engaging content that delivers outstanding results for the brand.


A panel of international judges

To reflect the importance of collaboration in creating successful international, content-driven advertising campaigns, the independent jury is made up of heavy-weight judges from brands, agencies, and media owners. Leading this year’s line-up are Co-chairs Jasmin Kaur, Global Managing Partner of Havas Media Network, and Santosh Sethumadhavan, Global Head of Commercial Campaigns at Swift.

“The last few years have been challenging for the marketing and media industry, across agencies, publishers, and in-house. Concerns around profitability have resulted in budget cuts which often means brands are expected to be doing more with less,” said Jasmin. “The Small Budget, Great Impact category is an inspired addition to the WorldMedia Awards. We’ll be looking for campaigns that show a deep understanding of the client’s brand and marketing objectives and deliver innovative content in the most effective format. It’s going to be one of the most interesting categories to judge, and I’m looking forward to seeing just how creative brands can be on a smaller budget!”    

Santosh added, “The World Media Awards always provides insight into how the top international advertising teams are driving engagement and success for global brands through content-led marketing strategies. After many years of leading B2B campaigns for major brands, I’m particularly excited to see that the jury will be evaluating B2B as a standalone sector category this year. Alongside Jasmin, I look forward to working with the judges to ensure that we surface the very best campaigns and give them the kudos they deserve.”

The World Media Awards offer a unique prize to each of the sector category winners. The winning entries are amplified in a worldwide advertising campaign valued at more than EUR 750,000 running across the World MediaGroup’s leading international media brands. Members comprise BBC Global News, Business Insider, CNN, The EconomistForbes, Fortune, National Geographic, The New York Times Company, Politico, ReutersTIME, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, and associate member, The Atlantic.

Championing international trusted journalism

The WMAs are not-for-profit. 50% of the entry fee will be donated to Reporters Without Borders, which protects and supports journalism and freedom of speech around the world. Early bird entry fees before June 28 are £150. Entry fees afterwards are £200. The exception to this is the Rising Star category, which is £50 to enter. The total entry fee for Rising Stars will be donated to Brixton Finishing School, which supports access to the advertising and media industry for underrepresented communities.

How to enter

Enter the WMAs here. Campaigns must have intentionally targeted audiences in at least three countries and 75% of the activity needs to have been implemented between April 2023 and June 2024. There is no requirement for campaigns to run in any of the World Media Group brands. The closing date for entries is Thursday, September 12, 2024.


This year there are 11 award categories plus the Content Leadership & Innovation award, which is judged based on nominations from WMG members. The jury will select the Grand Prix from among the following category winners:

  • Automotive
  • B2B
  • Corporate Influencer
  • Financial Services
  • Luxury & Lifestyle
  • Technology & Telecoms
  • Travel & Tourism

Specialist categories

The following four categories are designed to celebrate the power of great partnerships between brands and media owners; the potential for brand storytelling to drive progress on social issues; and to celebrate the next generation of talented individuals who are leading the way in delivering effective, creative and innovative solutions for brands.

  • Brand and Media Owner partnership
  • Small Budget, Great Impact
  • Rising Star
  • Social Good

Awards ceremony

The winners will be announced at an exclusive live ceremony on Thursday, November 21, 2024. Shortlisted entrants will receive two free tickets to join the celebration as guests of the World Media Group, and additional tickets will be available for purchase.

Find out more about this year’s judges here.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button