MRM’s Budjette Tan wins National Book Award for Trese 5

MANILA – October 25, 2013 – MRM deputy executive creative director Budjette Tan and artist Kajo Baldisimo won Best Graphic Novel in English at the 32nd National Book Awards for their work, Trese 5: Midnight Tribunal

Trese 5: Midnight Tribunal is the fifth installment in the Trese comics series first published in 2005. The series is written by Tan, with art by Baldisimo. The series revolves around Alexandra Trese, a detective who solves crimes committed by supernatural beings.  
Speaking about the win, Tan said, "This is the third time we’ve won the National Book Award for Best Graphic Literature. Of course, it always feels great to be recognized and awarded by the Manila’s Critic Circle." 
Tan noted that the panel of judges do not always declare winners in all the categories. In 2012, no awards were given for ebooks nor novels.  
"The first time Trese was nominated was for Book 2 and we lost that year. Kajo was the one who reminded me that we do Trese to have fun. I consider us lucky that we get the chance to tell the story that we want and get the recognition for it," Tan said. 
Tan and Baldisimo also took home a National Book Award for Best Graphic Literature in 2010 for Trese: Mass Murders, and again in 2011 for Trese: Last Seen After Midnight
"I still look forward to the time when the National Book Awards would have a dozen finalists for the Best Graphic Literature category," Tan said.
Right in time for the win, Baldisimo’s artwork from the Trese series will be displayed at the Trese Night Gallery exhibit, which will launch October 26, along with the TRESE: BOOK OF MURDERS, a collector’s edition compilation of the first 13 cases of the series, featuring digitally-updated artwork. The exhibit and book launch will be held at the Crucible Gallery at the fourth level of SM Megamall, at 5 p.m.
The winners of the 32nd National Book Awards were announced by the National Book Development Board (NBDB) and the Manila Critics Circle Thursday.
The full winners list: 
Juan C. Laya Prize for best novel in a Philippine language: Sa Kasunod ng 909 by Edgar Calabia Samar
Juan C. Laya Prize for best novel in a foreign language: Margosatubig: The Story of Salagunting by Ma. Cecilia Locsin-Nava, translated from Margosatubig (1946), by Ramon L. Muzones
Cirilo F. Bautista Prize for best book of short fiction in English: After the Body Displaces Water by Daryll Delgado
Best book of nonfiction prose in English: Hour Before Dawn: The Fall and Uncertain Rise of the Philippine Supreme Court by Marites Dañguilan Vitug
Best book of nonfiction prose in Filipino: Mga Angst ng Isang Di-mahapayang Gatang by Resty Mendoza Ceña
Best book of nonfiction prose in Kampampangan: Gálè at Gósu: Para Karing Mal A Patulunan by Crispin Nacpil Cadiang
Best Anthology in English: Hoard of Thunder: Philippine Short Stories in English, 1990 to 2008, 2 volumes, edited by Gémino H. Abad
Philippine Literary Arts Council Prize for best book of poetry in English:  Pictures as Poems & Other (Re)Visions by Marne Kilates
Best book of poetry in Filipino: Isa Lang ang Pangalan: Mga Tula by Rebecca T. Añonuevo
Best book of poetry in Kapampangan: Kawatásan: Obrang Poeta Laureado by Joel Pabustan Mallari
Isagani R. Cruz Prize for best book of literary criticism or literary history in a Philippine language: Halos Isang Buhay: Ang Manananggal sa Pagsusulat ng Nobela by Edgar Calabia Samar
Best Graphic Novel in English: Trese 5: Midnight Tribunal by Budjette Tan and Kajo Baldisimo 
Best Graphic Novel in Filipino: Zsazsa Zaturnnah sa Kalakhang Maynila #1 by Carlo Vergara
Alfonso T. Ongpin Prize for best book on art: Sacrificial Bodies: The Oblation and the Political Aesthetics of Masculine Representations in Philippine Visual Cultures by Reuben Ramas Cañete and Walking through Philippine Theater, 3 volumes by Basilio Esteban S. Villaruz
Best book on the professions: The Political Supreme Court, by Pacifico A. Agabin
Elfren S. Cruz Prize for best book on the social sciences: Perspectives on Philippine Languages: Five Centuries of European Scholarship by Marlies S. Salazar
Best book in Science: Shades of Majesty: 88 Philippine Native Trees by Pastor Malabrigo Jr. and James LaFrankie Jr.
Best book of Leisure: Savor the Word: Ten Years of the Doreen Gamboa Fernandez Food Writing Award, edited by Michaela Fenix, Maya Besa Roxas, and Felice Prudente Sta. Maria
Best Design: The Magic Circle, designed by Ani V. Habúlan and Ibarra Crisostomo
Publisher of the Year: University of Santo Tomas Publishing House 
Komisyon ng wicking Filipino special prize for best translated book:  IBALOY: Dictionary, Phonology, Grammar, Morphophonemics, Lee Ballard, main compiler by UP Cordillera Studies Center and Diteng, Inc.
Photo from Budjette Tan’s personal Instagram

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Back to top button