Arts & CulturePhilippine News

Arts & Culture: CCP Ani 41: Lakbay literary journal to be launched this April

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — Encouraging the Filipinos to write and express their thoughts on travel through literary and visual arts, the CCP Intertextual Division launches the newest edition of Ani, the official literary journal of the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP), on April 7, 2021, 2PM, via the official Facebook pages of CCP and CCP Intertextual Division.

Dubbed “ANI 41: LAKBAY,” this year’s edition will feature multilingual Philippine literary works on travel published on a digital platform and will be accessible online for free.


Edited by award-winning writer and editor Herminio S. Beltran, Jr., with Mia P. Tijam as the special section editor, the literary journal features 146 literary works, selected from thousands of submissions from different parts of the country and the world. The selected works are in genres such as travel essays, poems, short fiction, and other literary styles.

The featured authors include: Adrian Pete Medina Pregonir, Al Joseph Lumen, Allan Popa, Angeline Bernadette Rodriguez Pancho, Anna Vanessa G. Miranda, Anthony B. Diaz, Anthony Gabumpa, Ariane Urayenza, Arnel T. Noval, Arnie Quibranza Mejia, Arnold M. Valledor, Arthur David San Juan, Basil Bacor, Jr., Benster G. Comia, Carl Lorenz G. Cervantes, Chelsey Keith P. Ignacio, Christine Marie Lim Magpile, Christine Siu Bellen-Ang, Cindy Velasquez, Claire Quilana, Cris R. Lanzaderas, Crystal Micah Urquico, Dennis Andrew S. Aguinaldo, Dexter Reyes, Dionisia B. Fernandez, Dominique Garde-Torres, Earl Carlo Guevarra, Edgar Bacong, Eilyn L. Nidea, Elizabeth Joy Serrano-Quijano, Elmer Del Moro Ursolino, Elvie Victonette B. Razon-Gonzalez, Emmanuel Lacadin, Epifanio San Juan, Jr., Eric P. Abalajon, Ernesto V. Carandang II, Fe M. Valledor, Fermin Antonio D.R. Yabut, Francisco Arias Monteseña, Froy Agta Beraña, Genaro Gojo Cruz, Gerome De Villa, Gerome Nicolas Dela Peña, Gil S. Beltran, Gillian P. Reyes, Glen A. Sales, Gloria Antuerfia, Gregorio V. Bituin Jr., Heather Ann Ferrer Pulido, Helen Rose Roncal, Honesto M. Pesimo Jr., Jack Lorenz Acebedo Rivera, Jaime Dasca Doble, Jaime Jesus Uy Borlagdan, James M. Fajarito, Jan Angelique Dalisay, Jane Tricia Cruz, Jason F. Pozon, Jayson V. Fajardo, Jeremie B. Joson, Jessie Ramirez, Jr., and Jett Gomez.

Completing the list are: Joel Donato Ching Jacob, Joel F. Ariate Jr., Joel J. Clemente, John Christopher Endaya, John Jack G. Wigley, John Patrick F. Solano, John Paul Egalin Abellera, Jose Velando Ogatis I, Juan Carlos Montenegro, Kelvin Gatdula Lansang, Korina Muella, Larry Boy B. Sabangan, Ma. Steffi V. Nucum, Mac Andre Arboleda, Maffy Carandang, Maria Ella Betos, Maria Sophia Andrea Endrinal Rosello, Mark Anthony Angeles, Mark Norman S. Boquiren, Marren Araña Adan, Michael Andio Tagalog Suan, Napoleon Arcilla III, Natalie Pardo Labang, Nerisa Del Carmen Guevara, Nestor Librano Lucena, Nikki Mae Recto, Niño Manaog, Norsalim S. Haron, Paterno B. Baloloy Jr., Patricia May Labitoria, Paul Jerome Flor, Paul John C. Padilla, Paulene Abarca, Peter Michael C. Sandico, Priscilla Supnet Macansantos, Radney Ranario, Ramzzi Fariñas, Raphael A. Coronel, Raymond Calbay, Rene Boy. Abiva, Rene M. Raposon, Reynaldo M. Tamayo, Jr., Rhea Claire Madarang, Ricky C. Angcos, Roland Peter J. Nicart, Roman Marcial Gallego, Romeo Palustre Peña, Rommel Chrisden Rollan Samarita, Ronaldo D.S. Bernabe, Ronnel V. Talusan, Ronnie M. Cerico, Roy Rene S. Cagalingan, Ruth Chris Casaclang De Vera, Shur C. Mangilaya, Stefani J. Alvarez, Sooey Valencia, Tresia Siplante Traqueña, Wama A. Jorbina, Yanna Regina Mondoñedo, and Yvette Tan.

Out of the 146, 13 literary works were written by Persons with Disability (PWDs) and Persons Affected by Disability (PADs). These make up the special section, with the goal to help promote inclusivity in the publishing field.

The works are in English and Philippine languages such as Filipino, Bicol, Bicol Rinconada, Pangasinan, Cebuano, Visayan, Waray-waray, Iloko, Hiligaynon, Kankanaey, and Akeanon. Through a multilingual literary book, the CCP aims to engage the reading public in linguistic diversity.

Designed by art director Ronie Chua Padao, the book cover features a photograph titled “Bangka,” taken by Marcellino C. Sanchez Jr. Artworks by Dominic Ian E. Cabatit, Fara Manuel-Nolasco, Jean Govinda Marquesto, Jerome Agustin, Kyle Alistair Tan, and Norma Jean Lopez serve as the dividers for the book.

During the launch, CCP officials, such as Vice President and artistic director Chris B. Millado, will give their messages. It will be followed by a presentation of new works by artists from various media in collaboration with Ani 41 writers. “Pikpik,” a short story by Elizabeth Joy Quijano from Davao will be turned into a video essay, while “Si Gol at ang Gintong Barko,” Paul John Padilla’s children’s story on Catanduanes folklore will be brought to life through the works of Shadow Ace, Sofia Jaira S. Manalo and Posh Develos.

Music and spoken word will come together in a mash-up of Steffi Nucum’s poem “Inertia” and Jack Lorenz Acebedo Rivera’s “At Least?!” composed by Lolito Go and arranged by Karl Art with the special participation of Bacolod singer Ma. Margaret, while Nerisa Del Carmen Guevara’s poem “Chicken Little” becomes a short film highlighting her work as a performance artist, with some help from theater arts graduate Stacy Anne Santos. The Makatas will share their feedback as readers in the form of performance literature. The Ani theme song composed by Karl Art and sung by Patti Langas will also be formally introduced. Sign language interpreter for the show is from Cebu, Ms. Ellainne Bugtong. The online launch which will be directed by Jon Lazam is the event to mark the CCP’s celebration of National Literature Month.

Ani 41: Lakbay e-book will be accessible to the public and will be available for free download.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button