Awards NewsPress Release

71st Palanca Awards holds ceremony at historical PICC

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature celebrated its 71st year, holding the awarding ceremony at the Philippine International Convention Center as part of its National Heritage Series.

This year, it added 30 new names – first-time awardees – in its prestigious list of the most prolific Filipino writers, poets, and playwrights. A total of 54 contestants received awards in 20 writing categories in four divisions: Kabataan, English, Filipino, and Regional Languages. Literary luminaries handpicked from their fields evaluated the 1,405 contest entries submitted.

Gracing the night as Guest of Honor and Speaker is award-winning children’s author, columnist, and radio host Luis P. Gatmaitan, M.D. Inducted into the Palanca Awards Hall of Fame in 2005, Dr. Gatmaitan expands his profession as a physician to write children’s storybooks addressing sensitive issues such as disabilities, childhood ailments, and children’s rights, among others. Currently, he is the Chairperson of the National Council for Children’s Television that oversees the implementation of a child-friendly landscape in Philippine Television.


Adding to his multiple local and international accolades was the night’s Gawad Dangal ng Lahi, a special citation granted by the Palanca Awards to those who have contributed immensely to the development of Philippine literature and have aptly become role models for Filipinos.

Named after businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr. and sponsored by the Carlos Palanca Foundation Inc., the Palanca Awards is the longest-running and most prestigious literary competition in the country. It upholds the tradition of extending incentives for writers to continuously cultivate Philippine literature. A Palanca medal or recognition is highly coveted in the Filipino writing community in the country, and abroad.

Since 1951, the Palanca Awards has conferred medals and certificates to a total of 2,526 Filipino authors, 26 of which became Hall of Fame awardees for having five first prize-winning works. In championing literature, the Palanca Awards also serves as a treasury of our literary gems, currently holding a total of 2,617 winning works in its archives, spanning the years 1951 to 2023.

Following is the list of winners of the 71st Palanca Awards:

Kabataan Division

Kabataan Sanaysay

1st PrizeNo winner
2nd PrizeAmancio A. Caponpon V“Aranya sa Kisame”
3rd PrizeGlorious Zavannah Exylin C. Alesna“Sa Panahon ng Bagabag at Balisa: Paghagilap sa Pira-pirasong Retaso ng Hinahon at Pa(g)hinga”

Kabataan Essay

1st PrizeFrancis Roberto San Antonio SevillenaLiving on play in a world on pause
2nd PrizeGlorious Zahara Exylin C. AlesnaThe Bully is you
3rd PrizeRheyn Khrieztine S. Dela PenaFive More Minutes, Please!

Filipino Division

Maikling Kwento

1st PrizePeter Solis NeryAng Tariktik
2nd PrizeJay Jomar F. QuintosBuwaya
3rd PRizeElla Jane G. HermonioBoses Pusa

Maikling Kwentong Pambata

1st PrizeJaylord S. LosabiaSi Toyo at si Suka
2nd PrizeMikka Ann V. CabangonSi Liya at ang Dapithapon sa Ilaya
3rd PrizeIza Maria G. ReyesBabasagin, babasagin!


1st PrizeKimberly Rose L. PilloKung Paanong Nagmukha akong Sponge sa harap ng mga Pinggan
2nd PrizeAl Joseph A. LumenAuslander: Mga Danas sa Alemanya
3rd PrizeEdward Joseph FernandezAko ay si Ako nga


1st PrizeMikael de Lara CoEpistolaryo ng Bagamundo at ang tugon ng Multo
2nd PrizeRogelio dela Rosa Jr.Ang Hindi Maiwasang Patlang
3rd PrizeRalph Lorenz G. Fonte, M.D.Ex Novo Mvndo

Tula Para Sa Mga Bata

1st PrizeDexter B. GragasinTutula, Tutuli, Tutulo
2nd PrizeGenaro R. Gojo CruzAko, mga tulang pambata
3rd PrizeKeisiah Dawn T. TiaosonTugma ng Buhay kong Payak

Dulang May Isang Yugto

1st PrizeEljay Castro DeldocAng Lipnayan ng ating mga Katawan
2nd PrizeDan Ian Paulo B. MariposqueThe Divine Family
3rd PrizeDustin Edward D. CelestinoFermata

Dulang Ganap ang Haba

1st PrizeMiguel Antonio Alfredo V. LuarcaNekropolis
2nd PrizeChristian R. VallezPingkian
3rd PrizeJoshua Lim SoAtin ang Panahon

Dulang Pampelikula

1st PrizeJonathan P. JurillaLove Child
2nd PrizeJimmy F. Flores (co-author) and Emmanuel Q. Palo (co-author)Elehiya
3rd PrizeRaymund T. BarcelonBeki Naman

Regional Division

Short Story-Cebuano

1st PrizeNeile Genica M. SyLenteng Pilokilay
2nd PrizeJohn DanteAng Magsusulat Nga Haduol na sa Kamatayon
3rd PrizeCD BordenAlindasay

Short Story-Hiligaynon

1st PrizeRitchie D. PagunsanKauhaw sa Tingadlaw
2nd PrizeAlvin Q. LaridaLola Violeta
3rd PrizeSerafin I. Plotria, Jr.Puno sang Aligotgot

Short Story-Ilokano

1st PrizeRodolfo D. Agatep Jr.Diro Ti Disierto
2nd PrizeJorge Richard P. GuerreroIdiay Langit, Awan Lanit
3rd PrizeClarito De FranciaPiglatan

English Division

Short Story

1st PrizeExie AbolaVile Creatures
2nd PrizeIan Rosales CasocotDon’t Follow Me, I Don’t Even Know Where I’m Going
3rd PrizeKatrina D. TorralbaAmadito and Amanda

Short Story for Children

1st PrizeNo Winner
2nd PrizeJonny Bernas PornelThe Legend of Ipot-ipot
3rd PrizeElvie Victonette B. Razon-GonzalezThe Race to Uswag


1st PrizeRio Renato Pulido ConstantinoThe Year of the Periwinkle
2nd PrizeRussell Stanley GeronimoProfile of a Stateless Person: Notes on a Deportation Proceeding
3rd PrizeFrancine M. MarquezNormalizing Survival


1st PrizePatricia Mariya ShishikuraTranslating Wildfires 
2nd PrizeVince Raphael V. AgcaoiliCarrying
3rd PrizeMichael ManiquizLou Reed Meets Delmore Schwartz at a Bar

Poetry written for children

1st PrizeJohn Patrick F. SolanoOdd Numbers
2nd PrizeIan Rosales CasocotBisaya for all that we gugma
3rd PrizeSimone Marie SalesPaper Planes

One Act Play

1st PrizeRandy Q. VillanuevaNeneng
2nd PrizeIan Rosales CasocotThe Midsummer of Manuel Arguilla
3rd PrizeRossielle Sarabia ManicadMy Lover’s Presscon

Full-length play

1st PrizeMiguel Antonio Alfredo V. LuarcaDogsblood
2nd PrizeNo winner
3rd PrizeNo winner

This year, the total number of entries is 1,405 with 54 authors, playwrights, and poets making the cut. The youngest winners are 13-year-old female twins and the oldest winner is a 65-year-old male.

Partner with adobo Magazine

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button